Letter to my little sister before she goes to college

Steph

Dear sister,

Today you graduate and we could not be more proud. As I look at the little woman you are becoming, my heart is full of joy. Oh! How I remember the day I first saw you through that sonography in mom’s belly. I cried because you looked like a painting and not like the little sister I was waiting for. But when you came into this world I realized that you were even more beautiful than I had imagined. How I remember the days you believed in everything I said. I made you believe in monsters and all types of things. And I was not the nicest sister. You wanted to be just like me. You imitated my every move. You wanted us to have the same “favorite color”, the same dresses and you would even say that you liked things you hated just to be like me. Oh how you got on my nerves!

But one day you were about to be bullied in school by this girl everybody feared. Oh how my inner gangsta got out real quick. “I dare you to touch my sister” I said with not even an ounce of fear. As she walked away I realized that I could kill for you.

Through the years, we have gotten so much closer. How funny is it that even Jean-Luc gets our voices confused on the phone. I love you more than words will ever be able to say. And Don’t be fooled by the jokes I make about throwing your bed out of the room when you leave. Truth is, I cry when I think about it. I can’t picture myself in a room without you. As I am writing this I am sitting on the toilet and you just walked in thinking I had tears in my eyes because I was pooping. Lol I just had to pretend that it was the case because I can’t share it with you until tomorrow.

Anyways… Dear sister,

I promise to always be there.
I promise to listen to you no matter how late it is.
I promise to understand.
I promise to never judge you but to be the support and counselor you will need.

Remember that it’s ok to fail. That it is ok to change your mind about things you thought you wanted. It’s ok to cry when you miss mom and dad, no matter how old you are. It’s ok to ask questions and to be curious. It’s ok to party and to experience. It’s ok to feel lost. It’s ok to live.

Just remember that God is with you at all times and that rough paths will help you seek His peace in seasons where being away from home will be harder than usual. Remember that you are not who you really are yet. That it is important to travel and meet new people. Remember that I will always be one phone call away and that you can tell me anything! Really… Don’t let this version of myself intimidate you. I’ve made so much more “mistakes” and experiences than you’ll probably ever make. I know it all. You can talk to me. Also call me when you don’t know how to pray. I’ll help with that as well. God listens and if you dare to ask, you’ll see that miracles do exist. Trust me… I have some stories I can share with you when the time is right.

I love you deeply, sincerely, unconditionally, A la folie.

I am proud of you and I know you will accomplish great things.

I do not know how girls make it through life without a sister โค๏ธ

Je t’aime
Sophie

Leave a Reply

