How hiking made me understand Ephesian5

 

“The world is my church” I once said, realizing that everything around me has the ability to teach me something divine. And the more I grow, the more I realize how true this is. I am very passionate. The way I love, the way I see the world, the way I take action… They all reflet this passionate characteristic that God has dropped in the formula while I was being created. I observe and I find omens in nature, in people and in stillness. And I believe that my ability to write should not only reflect the “above surface” adventures but also the deeper spiritual parts happening through my adventures.

This past week-end, a group of friends and I hiked through the mountains for 5 hours. We left from a region called Ti Muska and walked through the rain, the hills, the mud and the forest to reach Seguin. Among many other lesson, this experience helped me understand Ephesian 5:22-33. In modern days, the begining of this verse could start a war. “Wives, submitt to your husbands as unto the lord” And here is how most of us will probably react: “wait… hat!?? Ain’t nobody submitting here. Submitt to who?!” And while I could totally understand this reaction, I believe that like almost every scripture, understanding comes when we silence our ego and let the spirit give us understanding. Let’s put that verse on pause for a few minutes.

My boyfriend and I, since 2 years now, have grown closer to God. Each of us at our own past but we both found a common ground where we both have the same vision and go in the same direction. And I can say that, out of our “almost 5 years together”, those 2 years where Jesus was “the center of the relationship” were the BEST EVER. We both have changed and matured in so many areas and the spiritual connection is the best part of it. While we were hiking, some moments were rough! I felt like I could not catch my breath and it seemed like I would not make it. At some point, while we were approaching a hill, he said

“Give me your bag”.

What? We were all struggling and he wanted to carry some extra weight? I would not let him. As much as I wanted to throw the bag away, I loved him too much to put that weight on him. But he insisted:

“I’ll carry it then give it back to you when you reach the top of that hill”

So I gave it to him. At the top of the hill, he asked me to eat a banana he had bought on the way and I felt way better! I felt so good that he took care of me. We kept walking. He asked if I had pain, if I was not too tired.. And at some point, I got a little irritated. My ego started thinking

“Does he think I am too weak for this?!”

(Yea I know. How ungrateful lol)

Let’s pause a little… This for me was the first part of the verse “Submitt”, the part that we hate, the part that does not make sense. It was the way my ego wanted to see it.

But then, as we kept walking, and he kept asking for my bag at the rougher parts, the second part of this scripture came on my heart:

25 Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, 26 that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, 27 so that he might present the church to himself in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish.28 In the same way husbands should love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. 29 For no one ever hated his own flesh, but nourishes and cherishes it, just as Christ does the church, 30 because we are members of his body. 31 “Therefore a man shall leave his father and mother and hold fast to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh.” 32 This mystery is profound…

I looked at my boyfriend and realized how muscular he was because he had been training for the past months. Even while carrying my bag, he could still go on while I took some time to  catch my breath and get my bag back after breathing a little. I understood that he could help me because he was trained enough to do so and loved me enough to want to. In the same way of thinking, submission is not a one way thing! A woman can submitt to a man that she trusts is “trained” enough to lead her. She cherishes the man who can speak life into her spirit, who has her best interest in mind. And in this biblical context, a man should first be led by God and let God teach him how to cherish his wife before that wife can submitt to him. And in this case, submission feels great! It is not one above the other but the two working together, on the same team.

If my boyfriend was weak, he would not have been able to help me. If he did not love me, he would have not seen the necessity to take my weight on him… Makes more sense now?

Man I love my boyfriend… So so much. And I love the beauty this scripture reveals to those who open their hearts to understand it.


I am so grateful to have lived this with him. And I can’t wait to discover more landscapes, waterfalls and grow more together.

Xoxo

A travel lover

2 thoughts on “How hiking made me understand Ephesian5

  1. I am one of those “I don’t submit to anyone and at my wedding, I won’t pronounce the part about submitting to your husband.” kind of girl. I think black people see submission as a really bad thing because it reminds us of slavery. I, myself hate everything about depending on anyone because I’ve learnt the hard way that people are just people, with many flaws and qualities and often unreliable. But today, I was exploring your blog for the first time and got carried away. I stumbled on this article about Ephesian 5 that you wrote and it brought me to tears (and i rarely cry). I was touched. So much. I lived one of these moments when the world around us goes quiet and our soul is spoken to. Thank you for this post. And I thank God for having sent this revelation to you so you could share it with us.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

