5 reasons traveling solo as a young woman is the best thing you can decide to do

DCIM106GOPRO

 

What? You went ALONE!? I would never be able to do that! You are so brave

This is the typical reaction I get when I say that I have traveled solo dolo. The look on some people’s face! It’s like you suddenly grew 6 heads. I am not going to pretend like it is the easiest thing to do because it is not but what I can tell you is that once you push yourself once, you become addicted…at least this is my case. I still remember how I felt at 19 years old, boarding on a plane from Finland to Barcelona! It was a mixture of stress and joy! I was ‘breaking the rules’, I was doing something crazy, I was taking risks, I was LIVING. With my hat on, my little green carry-on and my passport, I was doing something that my future self would thank me for later on. Now…let’s not go too much into details because I want to save some juice for my next book: THE TRAVEL BUG !!! Yes, a book where I can pour my heart out about the experience I acquired from my travels. Isn’t this amazing?! I think it is pretty awesome. What I CAN talk about now are the benefits of being a girl and deciding to travel solo. If you wonder why I do it, I will tell you that it is because it is the absolute best way for me to learn. Traveling solo has been my best teacher so far and even though I might think I am out of my mind once I am on the plane, I always come back with a big smile on my face and memories of a lifetime. It’s like a roller coaster ride!!! When you are about to go down you think: “What was I thinking??? Why am I doing this to myself?” But then, after the screaming and sensation that your heart is going to come out of your chest….you realize it was a hella aaaa-mazing ride!!! If you are a woman reading this right now, this one is for you. Traveling solo allows you to take a journey within yourself and no matter how scared you are, your future self will thank you for taking this leap of faith. Here is a list of reasons why you should do it:

1.You will become smarter

Yes! As much as I think we, as women shouldn’t have anything to prove to the world, I think we HAVE to prove everything to ourselves. And simply by doing this, you will impress the world. When you prove yourself how smart you are, it will be a shift in your life. I am not talking about book smart but life smart. Because you will face the fear of the unknown, you will boost your self-esteem. You will realize that you are capable of doing amazing things, that you are brave enough, strong enough, smart enough. You will look back and say: “Wouhou! I really did that”. You will see life with different eyes and you will put yourself in situations where your survival instincts will have no other choice than to wake up. There will be no one to help you out with the money management or with reading the map. You will push yourself to accomplish things that you never tried to do before. And this..my friend is better than what you read in a book. As a matter of fact, you might learn so much that you will be able to write a book about it!

2. You will learn to true meaning of being independent

By traveling solo as a women, you will learn the true meaning of being independent. You will go beyond the definition that society gives to this word and you will learn how to fly with your very own wings. Traveling solo will give you time to realize what you really like and what you don’t like. This will allow you to define what YOU were designed to do and make you go beyond the barriers that were previously imposed on you. Knowing exactly what our heart pumps for gives us freedom because we are no longer trying to figure out who we want to be. We might not know where we will end up after this revelation but having this sense of purpose will sure create the drive you will need to make your visions come true

3. You will see beauty with different eyes

As women we are often under the pressure of what ‘Beauty’ really is. Seeing beauty from different points of vu will show you that beauty is in fact, in the eye of the beholder. All the countries don’t have the same idea of beauty. What is seen as pretty in Asia, might not be in Africa and getting to the point where you let that sink in is pure liberation.

4. You will learn how to face your fears

There is OH so many things we think we cannot do. Life begins at the end of the comfort zone because this is the place where you will realize that you actually CAN do these things you thought were impossible. The decision to travel is in itself an act of courage and facing this will be the first step towards facing many more fears. Go for it!

5. You will become richer

Nothing can substitute experience. When you travel, travel light and take your whole heart with you. Don’t think about what you leave behind because what you will get from this is new knowledge, new passions, new drives and this is something no amount of money can create in you. You will become richer because you will learn the value of money. You won’t spend on things you don’t need (well…maybe sometimes) and you will fall in love with the feeling of ‘earning’ your trip.

So book that ticket, save up, learn, live, experience. Nothing can substitute experience!

p.s: My second book THE TRAVEL BUG is coming out in summer 2016

2 thoughts on “5 reasons traveling solo as a young woman is the best thing you can decide to do

Leave a Reply

