3 Reasons going away is the right thing to do when you are scared

Leap-of-Faith3

Welcome to the life of a travel addict. Today I had to give one of my clients ‘The talk’. She wants to get out of her comfort zone for her birthday and wrote me this long message a few weeks ago about how she always wanted to take risks. The things is that my relationship with my clients is more than simply professional. I actually motivate them and put myself in there place when I am planning on sending them somewhere. When I told her that I wanted to send her to Italy, she freaked out and said that she was afraid of going so far away. She almost settled for somewhere close like another island….No. Talking to her and motivating her even helped me with a few fears I am facing. After all, we are all human.

Fear, is our biggest enemy. The fear of the unknown, the fear of what we know, the fear of change and the list goes on. But did you know that stepping out of the fear bubble can actually be liberating!? You don’t need to know where you are going, you just need to take the first step. Here are some reasons you should take the leap:

1- Life starts at the end of our comfort zone

You probably heard that many times but it is true. I realized that I hadn’t fully started living until the I caught the travel bug.When I started to take risks, get lost and act like I was completely insane, this is when I started living. It can seem great to have an average and safe life but are you really living when you always know what you will be doing the next day? Is it really exciting to always know where you are going because you’ve seen that road so many times before? Is it fulfilling to be used too the same landscapes? As long as you decide to stay where you are because of fear, you will never really know how living with open arms feels like.

IMG_2867

2- Routine is a disease

“If you think adventure is dangerous, try routine, it’s lethal’ Paulo Cohelo

Not many people planned on having a boring life. They just woke up one day and realized they hadn’t done much with their lives. But it all starts when you back away from something you really wanted to do. What would make you feel alive? What brings you fulfillment? For me, it’s always progressing, always helping someone, always growing internally by doing things that bring me life like seeing something new. Living my life with passion is what makes me happy. It doesn’t have to be something big all the time. You can decide to drive somewhere and do it with passion! You can choose to have a boring ride or put on your favourite song and stop to enjoy a particular view..who said it had to be huge? Decide to do something new often. I hate routine, and I love that about myself but many people don’t realize that they are doing the same things all the time. It only takes a wake up call.

IMG_2782

3- If you don’t conquer your fears alone, you’ll always need someone to push you.

I encourage young people to build themselves on their own before associating with someone else. If you feel like you don’t really know who you are, don’t expect to find that identity in another. It all starts with self love. Facing your fears now will help you build yourself and know what you are really capable of. I am really excited about going far away with my boyfriend one day. However, I will never regret studying abroad or going away alone. I am firmly aware of who I am and what I want and my lover is a support system not a reflection of who I am. Is it not only about your love life. After facing your fears of going away and getting richer, you won’t be tempted to do things because everybody is doing them. You will learn to appreciate people but you will most importantly learn to step away when something will go in the opposite direction of what you know you want for yourself. Don’t be afraid to be scared. Yes I just said that..don’t be afraid of fear. Fear is exciting sometimes because it challenges us and this is, in my opinion, the best way to grow.

IMG_2715

xoxo

A travel lover

2 thoughts on “3 Reasons going away is the right thing to do when you are scared

Leave a Reply

