Dubai… Overrated ?

Last year, on april 17, 2013, I traveled from Finland to the most populous city of the United Arab Emirates. My friend Lynn-Cha, who was studying abroad in Singapore at the time, decided to meet me in Dubai. At the time, I was debating between flying to the middle east or go to Greece (Still on my bucket list). With some mutual encouragement, we decided to meet each other in Dubai. With a quick visa process, and pushed by the desire to finally get in some warm water, I booked my flight and flew from Finland to the famous city.

A few days ago, a friend of mine sent me a blog post about a few destinations the writer thought were overrated. Dubai was figuring on this list, after Bora Bora that she called Boring Boring and other destinations. This made me reevaluate my trip to Dubai in order to see if I agreed with her or not. After a few days reflecting on it, I’ve decided to write about the pros and cons of this populous city.

First of all, before saying that a city is overrated, it is important to ask ourselves: “What are the fist things to pop up when I look for this city on the internet? What do they use the most to attract tourists?” and then, see if these particular things meet our expectations.

When we look up Dubai on google or travel blogs, the Burj Al Arab pops up. This is the world’s most luxurious hotel. However, besides the original shape, there is no way of rating it without actually going inside and spending a night or two.

“The distinctive sail-shaped silhouette of Burj Al Arab Jumeirah is more than just a stunning hotel, it is a symbol of modern Dubai. Yet for all the wonder this stunning structure provides when you finally see it in person, it is the service within that really makes the Burj Al Arab Jumeirah so extraordinary.”

You can guess that two students traveling on a budget wouldn’t spend their last dimes at a luxurious hotel, except if we decided to torture our credit cards but we think we are more responsible than that…One step at a time. Regular price hotels work for us now.

What did I think about the outside? I am not really the kind the get impressed with exteriors. At least, the magic doesn’t last very long. Yes it looks different than any hotel I’ve seen before so I have to give it some credits.

DSC_0460

DSC_0451The other thing you see is the Burj Khalifa. Yes! That was impressive: the tallest building in the world. No other building will impress me after this. Unless the build a taller one. I didn’t even get to go to the top, but by simply looking up you realize how tall it is.

Burj Khalifa
Burj Khalifa

The waterfall show was also quite impressive

DSC_0526

DSC_0575

The desert safari was fun. From the duns to the night show, everything went well. The only thing was that I felt like the ride was a little too packed. From the lady who complained all the time to the Indian guy who kept burping, I felt like throwing everybody out of the car. But this has nothing to do with Dubai itself. I guess I should go back when I’ll have my money ready and rent a private car for the desert safari. I really enjoyed our little photo shoot on the desert. My friend and I can be a little crazy sometimes

DSC_0730

DSC_0766

 

Disappointments?

Well I guess I can say my only disappointment was the beach. The water was cold so I didn’t get to enjoy it as much as I wanted to. However, on our first day we spent a few minutes on Jumeirah beach and the water felt warm! Too bad we didn’t have our bikinis. The next day, they took us to some other beach instead of Jumeirah. I guess my beach experience would’ve been better if they took us to Jumeirah that day. I am a beach kind of girl so you can guess that it played a big role on my experience but overall Dubai was a great experience. I had a good travel buddy! We had our crazy moments especially on our last night. I would recommend it as a destination. However, I think it is a better choice of destination for those with a bigger budget.

xoxo

A travel lover

 

Leave a Reply

