It’s ok to wait till marriage: stories of two young honeymooners in Thailand

Today I went on a tour to james bond island and its entourage. As you know, I am traveling alone so I went alone. I was feeling tired and I felt like the day would be long. Funny how the most random day can turn out to be amazing. As a travel blogger and God lover, it is difficult for me to stick to traveling. Sometimes my posts get a little out of the travel subject and it is fine by me. But today, I am so happy to be able to perfectly mix the two topics!

Denise and Ricky
Denise and Ricky

I met this wonderful couple today: Denise and Ricky. When I first saw them, I immediately knew that they were a couple but I didn’t know they were married, until I saw Denises’s ring. I was so happy to see it because I really believe in young married couples. she seemed so young! So did Ricky. But I couldn’t see if Ricky also had a ring because his left hand was in his pocket. I stayed there stalking until I finally saw his ring ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes! They were married. I got so intrigued by them. I wanted to ask many question but I had to start somewhere lol and not sound like a stalker (which I was). We took a boat to the restaurant where we would have lunch and during diner, Ricky asked me something (I think He asked if I wanted more chicken) but yea the point is that a conversation started! Woohoo.

I didn’t know that the best conversation of my day was about to start. I learned that they were married for 5 days! And they were on a ย 1 month honeymoon in Asia. We started talking about marriage. ย See, as some of you know, many things have changed in my life since november 2013. I am in an amazing, surnatural relationship with God and this path has led me to stop doing certain things. one of these things happens to be sex before marriage. (wow, never thought i would be the girl waiting for marriage one day..NEVER) But God has showed me things that I had never seen nor understood before. It hasn’t been easy but it is totally worth it! Believe me. I have no regrets about my decision. (ladies, if he really loves you he will do it. don’t believe people saying it is impossible! But that is another chapter).

I’ve been wanting to spend 2 days in Jacmel (Haiti) with my boyfriend when I’ll go back to Haiti. 2 days, meaning spending the night. I knew that we wouldn’t do IT but still something on the inside of me didn’t feel right about it. I am the one who proposed it but I was also the one backing off lol. When the holy spirit is talking to you, there is no escape. I decided to think about it (off we are so stubborn when it comes to obeying quickly) and this couple just happened to give meย my answer. I asked them why they were happy to get married. Ricky clearly said with a laugh: “We finally get to sleep on the same bed”. I said: “ha ๐Ÿ™‚ you guys are christians or?”. They said yes. I asked if it was the first time they traveled together. They said no! They’ve been to many countries together BUT they always made sure someone came along ( an aunt, their families, friends). They said that their families always showed the value of marriage so they grew up respecting this treasure.

To summarize our conversation: It is sad to see young people not believing in marriage anymore. We do everything married couples do so most of us don’t see the point of getting a ring in front of God anymore. People do it all and end up having kids and partners outside of marriage. They said that on their wedding day some people didn’t show up because they didn’t really see it as a big deal, which is super sad. They are 24 and 26 and got engaged last year. They even think they took a little time to pop out the question. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately..about boundaries, about glorifying God with our relationships. I used to use ‘my body is the temple of the Holy Spirit” as a joke, but now I realize how serious this scripture is! If only you knew..If only you knew about the power residing in this body. Ouh. All of this makes me wonder why young people are so afraid of commitment nowadays.. We are using the excuse that we are too young for a relationship and that we are “enjoying life”. I don’t see marriage as an obstacle to enjoy life. It is simply adding your best friend to the picture. I am not saying that you should get into random relationships when you are not ready. No! Take your time. But I have a problem when it comes to bashing relationships and marriages because you ‘Don’t believe in it”. Please. Everybody wants love. Stop letting your past make you bitter and pretend like you don’t need it. Deep down everybody wants to be loved. Never stop believing in love.

so, to all my readers, this message is for you. If you really love somebody, if you really feel this connection that makes you want to travel together, build things together, don’t stay in an infinite relationship, infinite ‘it’s complicated’, infinite ‘we are not ready’. There is a time to analyze it and a time to jump. True love commits, true love takes the risk and most importantlyโ€ฆtrue love waits. Yes, it is not old-fashioned or crazy to wait till marriage. I used to laugh at it, but God showed me better and believe me, my relationship has never been stronger. (If you want me to write about how I announced it to my boyfriend, comment below). So I’ve got my answer. We will not spend the night over there. We will spend the day. Why tease each other on a bed? It’s black or white. We are in or we are out with God. Yes we fail Him daily, yes we miss, but His mercies are new everyday. Our God is a great God. My boyfriend and I sometimes put ourselves in unnecessary positions where God has to really stop us, and we are working on it all the time. The important thing is to be serious about doing things God’s way. It is not always easy but the spirit ALWAYS tells you when you are going in a wrong direction..always. You either chose to listen or ignore it and feel bad after.

Following Christ does not make you boring. You don’t stay home praying (like some people think). You can travel together, go party together etcโ€ฆ as long as your spirit is at peace with it and in line with God, go for it! Have fun with your boo. But let me tell you today that there is NO BETTER WAY than God’s way.

Take it from a girl who loves sex and never thought she would wait till marriage. I am always bold and open about my past, not trying to be better than anyone.

ps: You can still be the sexiest, wildest girl. Just be that girl for you hubby ๐Ÿ˜‰ not boyfriend, not randoms. Guard yourself. Adjust your crown.

You can see Denise’s and Ricky’s video here:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/tyvhfsc0ktvi4y9/Dennis%20and%20Ricky.MOV?dl=0

xoxo

A travel lover

24 thoughts on “It’s ok to wait till marriage: stories of two young honeymooners in Thailand

  1. I really enjoyed reading this one!! God is good. God is love! He will always show you the way! Keep pushing, Beautiful Angel! :*
    Also, I am young and married. And I have never been happier in my entire life! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. You are such an inspiration. I also decided to follow God 2 years ago and my life has changed since then, I know I am different now. My eyes were opened on that day. But it is very hard to stay faithful to his words or listen to him. And reading your posts really encourage me to keep fighting. You will have a lot of critics for what you’re doing because we all know that once you start giving God the glory in public, that you also start to be considered as an annoying, boring, etc…person. But don’t STOP, you are doing something that I think many of us would want to do but don’t have the guts because we’re afraid to lose friends or be criticized. You don’t know how many lives you are going to change and how many people who were already on that same path struggling you’re giving motivation to everyday. I really appreciate the time you take to nourish the soul of random people Anne-Sophie. Thank you.

    Like

    1. I am so happy that I can help people like you! Who are really seeking the heart of God. Yes we fail Him every day but it is okay, we are not alone. Keep walking that walk, it is not in vain ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

      Like

  3. Reading this brought so much joy into my life. And it’s reassure me that I’m not alone and God is good. You may not remember me but we went to the same high school back in Haiti I think I’m two years younger than you. But I gave my life to Christ back in 2011 and this is the best thing that can ever happen in my life. This is the best relationship ever my relationship with God, reading the bible I discover so many things and I feel so Good and secure I can feel the Holy Spirit inside if me and everywhere that I go, it’s just the best feeling ever. I learned so many things about marriage, sex and I learned to wait until marriage to have sex and made the promise to God and myself that I would never have sex until I get married. I had my first boyfriend in 2012 in my freshman year in college( I was really stupid), and one of the issue that we had was always about sex. He would always ask me to have sex with him and I would say no, he would tell me that there’s nothing wrong with that and that I don’t know what century I’m living in but there was always a spirit in me( the Holy Spirit )that would tell me to stop this relationship but I didn’t listen until one day I was feeling so hurt I was crying and miserable because he used to curse at me a lot and I found out that he was cheating. That night I cry to God and I told him to talk to me and tell me something, and he told me to leave him and if I don’t I would regret it for the rest of my life. I did exactly was he told me to do and this is the best decision that I’ve ever made in my life I felt so relief and even more close to God because when I was in this relationship I felt like he was pulling me away from God and that’s not good. What I realize is just like you said true love waits if he loves you and if he’s the one that God created for you he will wait for you. I get a lot of judgement from people because now I’m 20 and I’m still a virgin but I don’t listen to them. I keep praising my God, read his words, and live the way he wants me to live and always putting him first in everything. if you’re not sure about doing something always ask him and he will give you an answer. I always say that I don’t live how the World wants me to live but I live how God wants me to live. Sometimes we might be impatient and wonder would I ever get married but remember your timing it’s not God’s timing. God loves you and he wants the best for you. I say that to myself everyday. Anyways I love your story and always keep God first in your life, I’m so glad that I can relate to you. We’re both crazy for The Lord and he will show you things that you can never imagine. We’re not alone God Bless

    Liked by 1 person

    1. you brought tears to my eyes. I am so happy you are out of this relationship! My God! Curse at you.. anyways its in the past now and never let the memories of the past keep you from the great love story God has created for you. Remember “Dance with God and at the right time, He will let the right gentleman cut it” Always remember that. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Like

  4. YOU ARE JUST GREAT !!!!!! You are THE example of inspiration and that is on all levels. I usually don’t really look up to people of my generation because when I see us, I always get disappointed, but YOU are now one of the exceptions ๐Ÿ™‚
    After reading your post, I’d like please to know how you announced it to ur boyfriend

    Like

  5. No wonder I was so excited about reading this post. Your raw honesty is a real inspiration to all of us. Amazing how far words can travel inside each of us. Thank you for sharing !

    Like

  6. I truly believe that God is using you right now to inspire me and talk to me… I’ve always thought and wanted to consider sex after marriage; I started to stay away from it, but I had found it so difficult that I couldn’t hold for long. Although I wasn’t sure about how I was gonna make it, I’ve been thinking about sex after marriage for a couple of weeks now. Then, this happened 3 days before I read your post…
    I nearly lost the trust of both my parents over some stupid sex related issues; yes, it was stupid of me, but too serious for them to be proud of me. I felt so (…) I can’t even find the right word to explain how deeply in pain I am right now. I finally understood this is exactly the time to STOP!!! It won’t be easy, but I got strong enough to make it happen. Why not waiting and making right in God’s eyes? It’s going to worth it at the end. Your post just gave a boost of confidence, thank you very much and keep being yourself… I want to read so much more!

    Like

    1. Hi Beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚ don’t worry about your past or how difficult it will be. The scripture says that He will always give us the strenght to ENDURE temptation. You are not alone in this. Plus I have a verse for you. I just read it on the plane before I landed and it happens to fit you. 1 peter 5:7 i believe i came across this because He knew I would need it for you. Be strong. As I always say, especially in my book coming soon “Adjudt your crown” you are more than victorious

      Like

  7. Anne-Sophie I enjoyed reading this. I am sooooo happy for you to be where you are and become who you are. Jean-Philippe et moi sommes ensemble ca va faire maintenant 6 ans et aujourd’hui ca fait exactement 1 semaine since we tied the knot. As a young couple we faced the “tracyka tu exageres” ” jp.tu es marozo man pourquoi vous faites rien” etc. they even told us that our first time would be awkward parce qu’on pas d’experience etc etc but we stayed true to ourselves and kept praying together at night, il y a eu des hauts et des bas but on a attendu jusqu’au mariage and GIrrrrrlll let me tell you!!! it feels sooo great, on saime encore plus, its magical. so I am a witness, IT IS NOT IMPOSSIBLE! we are often so pressured by our surroundings, society, that we cant have our own opinions, beliefs, and when we do, they give us all kinds of names. Ca fait du bien de voir que d’autres jeunes want to step out and not always want to “fit in”. I wish you alllllll the best on your journey, I will keep you in my prayers your boyfriend and you. Ps: keep the pictures coming, I lovvvve them, et kudos for what you are doing. muahz

    Like

    1. I am sooo happy for you! You looked stunning at your wedding and Since the day I met you I could see that your (boyfriend back then) now husbznd was crazy about you. No lie. I am happy you guys were strong enough to ignore others opinion! It is not always easy. When you do you part, God does His part. I wish you guys ALLLL the best. Have tons of babies lol. Big hug to you.

      Like

  8. Je te rassure que Dieu te Benira d’avantage car tu as pris ta vie en main et tu as valorise Dieu en grandeur c’est bien . La verite c’est la verite .J’ai Lu ta revelation en Englais Mais j’aimerais bien que les Jeunes d’haiti auront la chance de la lire en francais .Une vie positive et Chretienne n’est pas du tout facile mais retiens la priere comme ta boussole .Je suis Une mere de deux Jeunes Je vais en partager Avec elles tes bonnes recommendations. Que Dieu te proteges et te garde dans tout tes entretiens.
    Je suis Une amie de la famille.

    Like

  9. Am so happy to read this .God wants the best 4 us .lets not compromise in the name of love .lets trust God 4 true love.better lose that person u think u love that lose ur fellowship with our God. Blessed all.

    Like

  10. This is such a great message.As a girl who share the same beliefs I truly believe that it is the best path to go.May God and the good spirits of this world give u strenght day after day to spread more love and wisdom to those who in need……,spread the love girlllll

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

