The importance of fixing your eyes on the cross

 

images

As my graduation day is approaching, my parents are coming to Montréal to see their first daughter finish university. My dad is the only one here for now. This morning, I had to take him to the metro so he could go to his friend’s house for a first aid class. They both used to work together many years ago for the red cross. My dad always talked about this friend but I never met him. Yesterday, my dad told me: “I would like you to assist the class”. I asked:’you’ll give me a personal lesson?” He replied: “No. tomorrow with my friend”.

So this morning, I woke up to to go with him. while we were in the bus he asked what i was going to do after dropping him off. I was surprised because the night before he asked me to come with him. He then told me that he would never ask such a thing since it is a private lesson and he wasn’t sure I would be allowed to be in the room. I am not crazy. I know he asked me to come yesterday. But he finally said that he would ask his friend if I could stay. I said it was ok, that I would just go back home. But then, he insisted. Weird scenario.

So I ended up going with him. When I met his friend, he seemed like a really nice man! Full of joy, and an incredible love for my country Haïti. My dad decided to play a CD and his friend told him that he could no longer hear from the right ear. He was diagnosed with brain tumor not too long ago. He can’t hear from an ear and doctors said he is not doing so well. At that moment, i understood why I had to be there. It all made sense. I told him we would pray together. when we got to his house, we prayed before the class. I invited his non-believer wife (nice woman) to pray with us. My dad, his wife, him and me all held hands. I prayed, laid my hands on him. Guys, the presence of God was so thick in the room! After the prayer, he had to breathe a little before starting the class.

That man…You would NEVER guess that he was sick. He is so joyful!

As I thanked God for bringing me to that man’s home today, I realized that God always puts everything together. Many times, the circumstances in our lives makes us wonder if God is even listening to us. We think He is too busy to listen to us. Or sometimes, we think our problem is not big enough. “People are dying out there. God doesn’t have time for me…”.

Would you believe me if I told you that God is concerned with the little pimple on your nose? Really, He is. God loves us so much, so so much that all over the bible He tells us to never worry. Do you know that God had the solution before you even had the problem? Do you know that nothing that happens to you is a surprise to Him? I’ve experienced some things in my life that showed me that I ‘should’ never worry. It is easier said than done since we are all human but it is important to understand why.

Take a minute and listen to this while reading

 

Look at the sky, the trees, the birds, the creation. Your God created all of this. He put everything into place, into motion. The bible tells us that we will never be able to understand the immensity of God’s majesty. But you know what? Even when you are less than a little point next to His power, He loves you unconditionally. Wow. Me? God knew you before you were formed in the womb. while you were still an unformed mass, He wrote your name in the book of life, He has your name engraved on the palm of His hand.

Sometimes, when we are facing certain situations, it is important to remember that God is above it all. That problem might look big but Jesus told us: ““Truly I tell you, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in their heart but believes that what they say will happen, it will be done for them.” Mark 11:23

What mountain are you facing? school? relationships? sickness? family issues? divorce? Don’t you know your God is greater than any thing you could be facing? Don’t you know that the sea trembles at the sound of His name? Don’t you know that when the king says “Bow”, every knee will bow? God knows what you are going through today.  But are you allowing Him to work? Is your door open? I can tell you something. God is all powerful but He is a gentleman, He will not force Himself into your life. But if you rather suffer without Him…I am telling you good luck. Some things we go through are so hard that I can’t even imagine what it must be like to deal with them without Christ. God has the solution to your problem but do you talk to Him? Do you tell your father how you feel? At night, when you cry on your pillow, don’t you know that angels are watching over you? You might not see it, you might feel alone but honey let me tell you that God promised to never leave us alone. God can’t lie, He is faithful. We do not have because we do not ask.

There are so many things in this world we use to try to find comfort… Alcohol, drugs, activities. But when was the last time we decided to sit with God and say:

Daddy, I am hurt. Things are not going so well. I got fired today. my mom was diagnosed with cancer. My dad left the house, my sister passed away, my health is not getting better. God, i know that nothing that happens to me is a surprise to you. I want to open my door today. I want to let you in. Nothing can fix me. Only you can restore my joy. God, i know you love me. I am choosing to trust you with my situation today”

Prayer doesn’t need to be technical. It is just you talking to God. You know He is jealous for you? When was the last time you had a conversation with Him? He wants to spend time with you! Are you too busy? Just a second, and you can loose your breathe. You know that? Do you invest time in what truly matters?

At some point of my life, I was not doing well at all. I was about to be kicked out of school. This was one of the darkest seasons of my life. I’ve always been a smart girl. Entered university at 16 years old but after my first semester, I failed 2 classes, and didn’t meet my school’s minimum GPA. I was…lost. You can read about the full story in my book. It will be published around october. But I am telling you today that I am graduating next week. So you can imagine that God did something incredible! I will tell this story to my children and grandchildren. Do you know that God showed me that, if I believed in the impossible He would change rules that were established for many years for me? Wouuw! God amazed me so much guys. He took me from the bottom and put me at the top.

Listen, we will experience difficulties. I t is not because you are smart that you will never fail. It is not because you’ve never been sick that you never will. But you know what? God told us that we will have trouble in world but to stay strong because He conquered the world with the sacrifice of the cross. Difficulties will come but please believe me when i tell you that your faith should remain strong no matter what! God will not allow His child to be pulled down by the things of this world. Whatever you are living right now God is telling you:

My daughter, my son

While you thought I left you alone, I was right next to you. Don’t be blinded by your circumstances for I am your God and I knew you before you were even formed. I told you in my word that no weapon formed again you shall prosper (Isaiah 54). Don’t you know that I will never abandon you? Don’t you know that I have angels watching over you? Yes it hurts, but you are still STANDING and as long as I am on the throne, I will protect you.

 

Guys, we need to learn to dance in the rain. Now, I smile in the rain, i laugh i dance, i jump. Because I know that, no matter what is happening around me, I should always look up and remember why Jesus died for me. I am more than a conqueror through Christ, I am destined for greatness, when I fall I won’t stay down for my God orders angels to rescue me.

Do you know that the devil loves when you get discouraged? he loves it because he sees that you don’t know how to use your weapon. Don’t allow the devil to steal your joy. Rejoice in the Lord! (phil 4) . The same God that was able to change the established rules for me and allowed me to get back on track is the same that will work for you. Just open the door. It doesn’t matter if your faith is small, it doesn’t matter if you never go to church, it doesn’t matter if you don’t know what to tell Him. Today, it is not too late to get on your knees and surrender. We often wait till we have no other alternatives to turn to God when He should be our first and only option! He is always ready to help you. Let Him know that you need Him. I know it is hard right now but trust that “All things work together for those who love the Lord” (Roman 8:28). You will be amazed. You won’t have to adjust to the situation, the situation will adjust itself for you. That’s what happened for me.

I am inviting you to just go to your room, or wherever you need to go to be alone with Him and ask for His presence. Here is a song that always helps me get in His presence: I posted it at the beginning of the post.

And also this to invite the holy spirit in your room and tell Him that He is welcomed in your home;

You can listen to it while you are reading the end of this post. I want to pray for you. Rather you are a believer or not, I believe everybody needs and deserves prayer:

God,

You see their heart. I am asking you to touch their heart tonight. Let them know that everything is WELL. No matter what the circumstances may look like, teach them to look beyond the visible. God, I know that you are a God who works under the surface. You proved it to me. I know you love each and every one of them. I know you see their hearts. They are inviting you today, they are asking you to take the problem and replace it with your peace. Lord, in Jesus name, I declare peace ever their life. I declare their chains broken in Jesus name. As I am writing, I am now speaking in tongues for each and every one of you. I am virtually laying my hands on you. Whoever you are, wherever you are…

Smile. It is well. In Jesus name.

 

40f9b270fa56e7b0d1025bd3c2fb6e92

 

Even when your world seems to be falling apart, keep on keeping on.Keep walking, keep moving, eyes on the cross, focus focus. He got your back. Nothing is impossible to Him. I got the privilege to meet someone to whom He had given a new finger overnight after the finger got cut in an accident. You might still be sceptical about these things but it’s ok, I know God will amaze you like He amazed me. And there is more to come…

xoxo

God is crazy about you ❤

 

One thought on “The importance of fixing your eyes on the cross

Leave a Reply

